The Obligatory First Post

I decided to start this blog after my latest meeting with my rabbi, which happened this afternoon.  I’m a writer by heart, yet my writing voice has been strangely absent as I take myself on the path of becoming a Jew and finding my Jewish soul.  I started trying to write a blog just after I began my conversion process (in December 2011), but I felt uncomfortable and uneasy at the thought, and so took refuge in an older, long-neglected online space that felt safer.   Today, however, I feel inspired to begin chronicling my journey in a somewhat public fashion, yet with the comforting cloak of relative anonymity. If you’d like to learn more about how I found myself on this journey, you can read more on the about me page.

The other motivation for creating this blog is because my rabbi has asked me to reflect during the month of Elul, which leads up to the High Holy Days in September (this year), which is meant to be a period of introspection and thoughtful reflection as the new year and the day of atonement (Rosh Hashanah and Yom Kippur, respectively), approach.  As it happens, last night I came across the #blogElul challenge hosted by Ima on (and off) the Bima, otherwise known as Rabbi Phyllis Sommer.   The challenge, which I want to set for myself, is to blog each day on the theme of the day.  If I feel so inspired, I may also try and add photographs, though I’m not on Instagram, so cannot take part in the #Elulgram.

The themes I will be blogging on are as follows:

My hope is that this month of blogging proves to be fruitful, inspiring and thoughtful.  Let’s see how it goes.

One thought on “The Obligatory First Post

  1. Kol Hakavod for taking this on! It seems like it will be a wonderful way to focus on your cheshbon ha-nefesh as we move through Elul and toward the Holidays. I look forward reading more and want to thank you for sharing your journey!
    –Harry

Leave a Reply

