#BlogElul 2013

Blink and a year passes. Tonight marks the start of the month of Elul, the month of reflection, introspection, of beginning the process of teshuva, seeking forgiveness. Just like last

Image

 

Hopefully every day this month, I will be blogging on these themes, just like last year. You can find other fantastic #BlogElul content around the web by using the hashtag – Instagram, blogs, Pinterest – it’s all there.

Preparing. This moment in my life is filled with preparations, both mundane and spiritual. I am planning a wedding. I am planning for my new job, daunted and filled with nervous anticipation about how this year will turn out, and the year after that. I am planning how to merge our respective cultures and faiths into a wedding ceremony that is meaningful and reflects and respects who we are, both as individuals and as a couple. Preparing mentally for these moments is enough of a task, and if I don’t let it, these thoughts will take over my head – already, visions of wedding table centerpieces dance in my head, invading my dreams.

So I must fight back. I must carve out mental space to prepare spiritually for Tishrei, to make this a meaningful period, an honest self-accounting. It’s not good for my mental health or my spiritual health to neglect my spiritual life, to let all my thoughts be consumed by the day-to-day concerns. The trick is to strike a balance, so that I can enter Tishrei and the new year renewed, refreshed, and ready to go.

Leave a Reply

